Fixed Positions from Styles

Put your questions here on how to do things in ProtoShare.
davebur
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 9:19 am

Fixed Positions from Styles

Postby davebur » Mon Aug 02, 2010 9:44 am

Sorry if my first posting went through, but I will ask this again. Is it possible to use the "fixed" position in the style sheet.
example:

#thefooter {
position: fixed;
left: 0px;
bottom: 0px;
z-index:500;
background-image:url(../images/footer_back.jpg);
}

Josh Kristof
Posts: 525
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 3:40 pm

Re: Fixed Positions from Styles

Postby Josh Kristof » Wed Aug 04, 2010 12:58 pm

Dave,

You can use the fixed position by adding !important to it; however, you're probably going to see undesirable effects from it such as the component not moving properly when scrolling the editor. The bottom and right of the editor are not fixed and can move as your wireframe expands so setting positions based on them using CSS may also be problematic.

cambeck
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 1:57 pm

Re: Fixed Positions from Styles

Postby cambeck » Wed Sep 14, 2011 2:53 pm

For the life of me, I cannot get this to work.

Here is what I have in my style sheet:
a.trigger{
position: fixed !important;
top: 160px;
right: 0;
z-index:1000;
}

I've assigned the image in question with the class "trigger."

Its behavior is not modified. What am I doing wrong?

Josh Kristof
Posts: 525
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 3:40 pm

Re: Fixed Positions from Styles

Postby Josh Kristof » Mon Sep 19, 2011 11:23 am

Hello Cam. What are you trying to get your image to do?

cambeck
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 1:57 pm

Re: Fixed Positions from Styles

Postby cambeck » Thu Sep 22, 2011 3:22 pm

Just stay in the same spot in the browser as the user scrolls down the page.

Performing a usability test and need to get a reaction (or lack thereof) to that behavior on this particular object.

Josh Kristof
Posts: 525
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 3:40 pm

Re: Fixed Positions from Styles

Postby Josh Kristof » Tue Sep 27, 2011 8:40 am

In your example you'd want to replace a.trigger {} with something like .s9-image .trigger {}

The issue is most likely with your selector.

cambeck
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 1:57 pm

Re: Fixed Positions from Styles

Postby cambeck » Wed Sep 28, 2011 2:37 pm

That did it! Sorta... Had to remove the "a" because it isn't an anchor... or some such thing. Thank you!

cambeck
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 1:57 pm

Re: Fixed Positions from Styles

Postby cambeck » Thu Sep 29, 2011 8:40 am

Okay... This is weird. I thought I had it working. Then I started adding Visibility filters, and it stopped working in review mode. IT STILL WORKS when I'm in Interactive Mode. EXACTLY the way I want it. But it stays static in review mode.

Josh Kristof
Posts: 525
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 3:40 pm

Re: Fixed Positions from Styles

Postby Josh Kristof » Thu Oct 06, 2011 3:38 pm

I just spoke with a product engineer and unfortunately, because of the way that the review window works, it is not possible to position your component via CSS at the top in such a way as to "float" it.

marksteven
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2014 9:48 am

Re: Fixed Positions from Styles

Postby marksteven » Thu Jan 23, 2014 9:51 am

This is a pretty old thread... but still relevant.

I can't see how to fix the position of a background image. It would be really useful if we could do this. Has this feature arrived since the last post?


Return to “How Do I...”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron